You are here ->

Race report – Prokart SSS Sprint round 4

Race report – Prokart SSS Sprint round 4



ROUND 4 of the Super Single Sprint Series took place at Vereeniging kart circuit this past weekend, this time with a bit of a difference in that racing was in a reverse direction.


6 Karts participated in the 50cc Minion class.


8 karts in the 160 Midget class.


8 karts in the brand new 270 class.


And 20 karts in the 390 class.


The Minion class was split into two with three kids on the optimum 4stroke package and the other three on the Comer 50 2stroke engine. Ashton and Cruise Martin were new to the class, and raced alongside the veteran Leandro Figuera, in the Comer 50 class. The 4Strokes were made up of Jemma Neilson, Triston Phillips and Hayley Scheepers. Despite running the 2 different engines, racing was close throughout the day, and at one stage the 4strokes of Jemma Neilson and Triston Phillips had muscled their way to 1st and 2nd on the grid. These little boys and girls are real warriors in the making, and put on a good show for the spectators. Jemma Neilson took the overall win, followed by Triston Phillips and Hayley Scheepers in 3rd in the 4stroke class. Leandro took the win, followed by Ashton Martin, and Cruise Martin in 3rd in the 2stroke cadet class.



The 160 Midget class, although few in numbers still produced brilliant racing. New to the class was Tyrone Donker who from the beginning of the day was right in the mix of things and took the challenge to his new competitors. The racing started off a bit slow and almost seemed as if everyone was trying to find their feet. That however changed quite drastically in the last 2 heats, as you could hear outbursts of victorious screams as Christiaan Van Wyk and Tyrone Donker battled it out in the front of the pack. Hot on their heels was Aeron Wecke and Eduan Naude followed by Jarred Obermeyer and Abigail Neilson.

Hats off though to Christiaan Van Wyk who proved to be the victor of the day, and managed to beat Tyrone Donker to the flag on the last lap. Tyrone had to settle for 2nd place, with Eduan Naude in 3rd


The new 270 class made its debut, and was outright domination by Michael Nortje. Alex Cox kept him honest with 2nd for the day, and Nicole Donker was in close pursuit with 3rd place. The ASF paraplegic team very proudly placed 4th. Reece Palmer was a lot more comfortable with the new engine package and had a solid race for 5th. Very soon she and Nicole will be giving the boys a solid run for their money.

The youngest DJ in S.A; Dillon Cronje was also in the pack for his first race, along with Michael Adhong who’s kart was built the night before the race. Welcome to all of you and look forward to this class growing in numbers


The 390 class, has grown considerably in size. Welcome to the new teams: Luca Munaretto, Dean Nortje, Tolken racing, Weed for Speed, JSP Racing, Chantel Martin and Jorge Santos. Also a BIG welcome back to Team Petronas who have been out for a while.

Q1, H1, H2, H3 and H4, were all owned managed and became the  property of Luca Munaretto. Despite having a broken hand, this little guy from the 2stroke circuit was on fire. Team Kart Shoppe presented most of the challenge but 2nd place was the best available. The Sidewinder brothers claimed 3rd place after managing to fend off 4th and below. Worst luck of the day had to go to Team Farmtruckers, who seized his engine after lying 3rd.   In true SSS spirit team Furmanite kindly borrowed them their spare engine and got them back on the track but then went on to bend an axle later in the day.


Thanks to everyone who attended the event and look forward to seeing you all and more at the next Sprint event at Idube on 19 and 20 June.






Related posts